Top 10 Benefits of Being a CrossFit Parent

Posted: June 24, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

10. Going to a school function and having the other parents think you are a lot younger than you are.

9. Being at a Girl Scouts picnic and having your wife help move a large table and when some guy says, “Oh no she shouldn’t do that, let me help” and then you get to say, “She can deadlift well over 200lbs, I think she’s got it.”

8. Having your child pick up a PVC and bust out a pretty darn good Snatch.

7. Being able to keep up with your kids and having fun playing with them instead of just watching.

6. Getting to make the most of birthday parties that are at Gymnastics facilities, pools, bouncy houses, trampoline gyms, ect… So much more fun than just sitting around chatting.

5. Getting the opportunity to teach other parents about CrossFit when they ask you how the heck you stay so fit.

4. Being able to show your kids how to do things, rather than just trying to explain it.

3. Knowing you are setting a great example by keeping fit and eating real food. It is fun to hear someone ask you if you want some cake and your kid says, “He is not going to want that, my dad eats paleo.” That doesn’t mean I never take the cake though 😉

2. Feeling secure about being able to protect your family in an emergency. Whether it is being able to run 5 miles to your kid’s school, carry one for an extended period of time, or putting the smack down on some idiot that tries to harm your family in any way.

1. Knowing that you are doing the best you can to stay healthy so you can have a long, active life to provide the best life you can for your kids.

Please stay connected with my blog by clicking the stay updated via rss link at the top of the page. You can also find my Facebook page here CrossFit Dad

 

Comments
  1. Love it! Shared this on my FB! Keep it up!

  2. Mark says:

    Thanks Crossfit Dad – great post … except for number two … not sure if you’ve mentioned studying martial arts before. Being fit and using that as an example to your kids and others is awesome. Beating the crap out of people who intend to do you harm is a lot more complicated than doing a snatch or a lot of burpees. I like Wrestling or Krav Maga for people who like to threaten me, personally.

  3. FG says:

    I love it !
    Regarding #2 : it was August 2003. NYC had the big black out. I was pregnant with our first son. All buses/trains etc were cancelled. and there were no phone service. My husband ran 17 miles home to NJ ( with work clothes) to make sure I was ok. ❤

    • CrossFit Dad says:

      This is exactly what I am talking about, so awesome! Thanks for sharing that quick story. Not many people would have been able to do that and being a husband myselft, I would have felt horrible if I felt like there was just no possible way for me to get home to my pregnant wife. You got a keeper 😉

Leave a Reply

