Put off the dishes and go have some fun

Posted: June 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

Life is about experiences. Sometimes you need to step outside your comfort zone and take on a new challenge and gain new perspective. Experiences also vary in magnitude; you don’t need to think so grand that it seems impossible to achieve, it could be as little as mixing things up by trying a new coffee shop. Sometimes it is hard to just get off your butt and go do something, there are always excuses like, I need to finish the laundry, clean the kitchen, clean the garage, etc… There will always be other things that you “should” be doing, but it is ok to put off the daily grind every once and a while and go do something. In the end I don’t think you will look back and think, wow I am really glad my house was always spotless. I think you will think things like, I wish I had spent more time with my kids, or I wish I would have made more time for my hobbies. Sometime you literally are just feeling tired and lazy from all the other work you have put in, but once you get over that hump and get to whatever activity you have decided to do, it is all good. Try and remember that feeling and harness that emotional energy to help you get over that hump next time you are feeling too tired to go outside and play with your kids, or take them on a hike, or head out to happy hour with friends.

Another obstacle is thinking that you completely have to trade one thing for another, like if you choose to go play with your kids for bit that you will have to completely not finish whatever chore you think you should be doing. If you give your kids 15 solid minutes of focused and present time, they are good to go. They you can go back to whatever chore it was that you were doing and you will feel great about the time you just spent having fun and you kids will feel great too.

Over this last week, my son finished his first year of preschool, my daughter finished 1st grade, and it was the 2nd anniversary of my dad passing away. It has been a great and emotional week and it has also refocused my perspective. It reminded me of how friggin fast time flies and why I always put my family first and make no excuses about it. Life is about experiences, so make sure you are getting your fill, and don’t let the monotony of life hinder you from trying something new or having a little fun.

Leave a Reply

