Snow + Ice = Shovel WOD

Posted: January 20, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Well we got about a foot of snow over the last couple of days and it has been fun. However, over last night and this morning we got freezing rain and that has fucked up all the snow and toppled countless trees. We lost power, along with 250,000 other people and the box was closed. But not all was lost, I am an active person and I don’t like feeling trapped in so it was time for a shovel WOD. Isn’t this what we CrossFitters train for anyway, functional fitness? So with shovel in hand I first hunted down the two closest storm drains and cleared those suckers. Then I started clearing tracks for my truck to make it up our hill. As I was clearing this heavy ice my back started feeling a little tired and I thought, WTF I am using pretty crappy form and I was supposed to deadlift today anyway so it was time to put my training to work. Dig in, set my back, lift, and dump to the side. Now i know this is not an exact substitute for a deadlift, be it sure helped and I pounded up to my destination with no problem. Also I must have inspired a couple of neighbors because they came out to help, this is a great community, sound familiar? Same reason I love CrossFit, the community always has your back, sometimes literally 🙂 This was all typed on my phone, Thanks Windows 7  Phone, you are a life saver when then power is out.

Leave a Reply

