Food Revolution

Posted: April 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

Have any of you watched the show Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution? It was on last season and he went to the most unhealthy city in the United States and tried to make some changes to people’s eating habits by starting in the schools. I remember watching last season and seeing the complete crap that is fed to kids at school on a daily basis. His goal was to help them learn how to make healthier food and try to keep costs down. This season, which just started last week, he is in LA. and the school district there will not let him in to even look at what they are making at the schools for lunch. He can’t even step foot inside a cafeteria, let alone the kitchen. They have been throwing out these crazy high obesity percentages for the L.A. area kids and it is just nuts. I think this is a great show and totally on board with revamping what our schools are trying to feed our kids. Now I will just continue to send my kids to school with homemade lunches, but that does not really solve the health problems we are having in the U.S. due to poor diet. I am going to start looking into how I can get more information about my children’s school district and what their food guidelines are. I want to make sure I am involved and trying to make changes to improve not only the live of my children, but all children. Even child deserves to be healthy. All this being said, most people reading this know that I eat predominantly Paleo and Jamie Oliver does not teach Paleo nutrition. I totally get that, but what he is teaching and doing to make school lunches better is fine with me for two reason. The first is, he is teaching about using quality meats and fresh ingredients, this is very important to me. The second is, even though he include some pasta and breads, it is still 100% better than what is available now. I think it would be unrealistic to try to start getting schools to go Paleo and much more doable to just get them to get rid of processed crap and tons of sugar. If you have never seen this show I would highly recommend it, even if you don’t have kids. It is on ABC and if you go to this link you can sign a petition to get better food in schools http://abc.go.com/shows/jamie-olivers-food-revolution/take-action Let’s start making a change here in the U.S. to turn around this epidemic of unhealthy and overweight people with diabetes, heart disease, and a myriad of other ailments. Everyone deserves a healthy life.

Leave a Reply

