Family Day = Awesome

Posted: April 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

I sat down tonight on the couch and starting thinking about what I was going to write. There are several topics that have been rolling around in my mind that I wanted to address like, Kevin Daigle’s condescending article, how the Open is going so far, focus during a WOD, etc….. What I am choosing to write about instead is Family Day. Maybe it sounds kind of cheesy but this has turned out to be the best idea I have had in a long time and my most looked forward to day of the week. Family day is pretty much exactly what it sounds like, we just hang out and do stuff as a family. About 3 months ago I decided that we were going to choose one day a week that was going to be family day and find some activity to do or place to go. Then I started putting together a list of all the different ideas I had about things we could do and we have just been ploughing through it and adding more as we think of them. The reason why I think these days are so great is because on most days we are so busy with work, going to the box, doctors appointments, e-mail, Facebook, yard work, and every day life that we are not always fully engaged for long periods of time with our kids. But on family day the focus is on the family and carving out that time to bond and connect on that fully engaged level. At the end of these days I always think about what a great day it was and when I go to work on Monday I feel like I had a fantastic weekend that was packed full of awesomeness. Over the past few months Sunday has turned into our usual family day and this is an example of what we did today. First we took our time getting up and out of bed and then had a little breakfast together. Next we headed out to cheer on an Open competitor and in the process of that we got to watch our 3-year-old son demonstrate how to do a burpee box jump, so awesome. Then we went to go see the movie Hop and the best part about this was how my 6-year-old daughter wanted to hold my hand almost the entire time. It also just brought back a flood of memories from the first couple of movies my parents took me out to. Then I started thinking about how this silly sounding activity could be a memory they have for life. It really helped me put into perspective how important the little things are. After the kids did a great job at the movies we headed over to Whole Foods to have lunch, this gave us an opportunity to have a tasty and healthy lunch which brought up the topic of nutrition. And not by me or my wife, but my daughter. After lunch we hit Lululemon for a quick shopping trip and then started the trek home. Once we arrived it was time for everyone to have a little quiet time. Everyone choose their own thing to do for an hour to recharge. Next we were feeling a bit lazy, so we decided to go out to eat for dinner too. We all enjoyed a good meal and then headed home to watch America’s Funniest Home Videos together (one of the rare not cartoon shows we can all enjoy). Lastly it was time for the bed, which includes one on one time with each of the kids reading and snuggling in bed. Don’t get me wrong, this was a busy day and once the kids were in bed I was ready to just crash on the couch but it was fantastic. Our family days aren’t always this aggressive, sometimes it might mean just hanging out together at home and do stuff like making crafts, watching movies, art, or cooking together. That is part of the greatness, you can do whatever you want as long as you are all spending time together. I know these day are not only important to me because I have started getting questions from the kids on when the next one is and what we are going to do. It is crazy how different I feel if we have to miss a family day for some reason, it is like my weekend was just two more days of work and I did not get a break. If this is not something you already do, just start putting together a list of fun things you can do and start scheduling away to make sure you don’t forget or over book. I am already looking forward to next weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

