CrossFit New Years Resolutions

Posted: January 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

So we are 1 week into 2011 and I have yet to come up with any resolutions for the coming year. The good old New Years Resolutions may sound a little cliché, but it is an excellent time to set up some written goals. To be honest I just haven’t taken the time to really think about what do I want to strive for this year. So since I am just sitting in a waiting room right now and have at least another hour to kill I am going to work through a few goals with you. But just before I start that I want to cover something that just popped into my head that I don’t want to forget. In January the box/gyms are always a lot busier than the rest of the year since so many people start a new goal of getting fit. Well this year I want everyone to make a point to keep their box busy and what I mean by that is help out these new folks, show them the ropes, give them encouragement, bring them into the group. It is scary how many people will quit their goal of getting fit in just one or two months, but this year lets not let that happen. Lets go the extra mile to try to get some of these folks to get excited about being fit rather than dreading putting in the time and effort at the box. This might sound a little cheesy, but I truly believe that it is super important to spread the word about good fitness and health. The U.S. isn’t doing so well with our exercise and eating habits and I know I want my kids to grow up with the best chance to thrive and have a long healthy life. So the beauty of trying to keep these adults that are new to your box coming in, is that their kids will see what they do and follow them. It is like a double whammy of goodness.

I guess I should now get onto my own resolutions:

1. Get the CrossFit Striking Cert and put it to use

2. Don’t forget family or a good friend’s birthday

3. Get rid of my storage unit (anyone what to start a picture framing business? I have everything you need and more :))

4. Get my shoulder looked at again and fix it all the way rather than just get it a little better

5. Get a muscle up

6. Take my family on a great vacation without doing work e-mails

7. Take more pictures

8. Keep my kids in at least one extracurricular activity the whole year

9. Try not to udder the phrase “Hold on a minute while I finish this e-mail” to my kids while I am at home

10. Visit my sister

Shoot I feel like I could keep going for a while, I think I will just stop with those for now. You know I think 2011 is going to be a great year. My father passed away in June of 2010 and I miss him like crazy, so 2010 was a very tough year for me. I know my dad would not want me to dwell on his passing and keep me in a rut, so I am going to do my damnedest to keep going strong and striving toward my goals. 2011 is going to be a great year, because I am going to make it a great year and I suggest you do the same. You know I reminded my wife of something she told me a long time ago and I still love this quote, “If you don’t put effort toward what you want, then you have to put effort toward what you get.” Set some goals people and make this a fantastic year. Kick butt in CrossFit, keep those newbies in your box, and above all else love your family and spend time with them.

 

Comments
  1. Will Johnson says:

    Here are my goals for 2011
    Read Bible weekly
    Pray daily
    Do a study with Jodi
    Take a Beach Vacation
    Keep weight between 180 and 190 (Current 187)
    Get BF to 12% (current 16%)
    Dead lift 500# (current 435)
    5:00 Fran (current 6:30)
    Spend time each week 1 to 1 with Dylan and Jake
    Monthly date night with Jodi
    Workout min of 3 x weekly
    Get Jake in soccer.
    Get Dylan in Crossfit Kids (Done)
    Run a 5K

Leave a Reply

