Nutrition Malfunction

Posted: December 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

It has been a long holiday season with New Years coming up in two days. There has been tons of cookies and candy at work, holiday parties, visiting with family, and almost none of it has been paleo. Now I try to keep a pretty darn clean diet and since about Thanksgiving I have been slowly eating worse and worse. Sometimes all of these delicious treats that are in abundance during this time of year and just too hard for me to pass up. Well I am paying for all this bad eating in full. My worst few days were Christmas Eve through the day after Christmas and when it was WOD time on Monday I could definitely feel the effects of all of that unhealthy eating. When Monday rolled around and I went into the box I saw that the WOD was DT a hero WOD. Now all hero WODs are pretty darn hard, but by the end of the first round of this five rounder I was already spent and sweating up a storm. It basically felt like I was running on empty and just had to gut it out to make it through. There just wasn’t that extra juice or even enough energy to get half way through feeling strong. I was drenched with sweat by the end and that is not typical either, the worse I have been eating the more my body produces. Even outside of CrossFit I have been feeling much more tired and fighting the urges to take a nap in the middle of the day. I love a good cinnamon roll now and then, but maybe four in one day is excessive 😉 Well I can’t change how I was eating the last month, but I can get my butt back on track. Once you have been eating Paleo for a while and then fall off the wagon for a bit you can really see and feel the drastic difference between eating clean and not. You start packing on the extra weight, you feel more lethargic, and WODs are just more difficult. For me I just want to get back to having all of the energy I had because life is sooooo much better feeling that way. I would rather be making big gains at CrossFit rather than just trying to gut through a WOD and make small and much slower gains. Don’t get me wrong, junk food tastes fantastic, but I have decided feeling fantastic is a million times better. Time to go back to eating clean, real food and only eating non paleo in moderation. I usually follow the 80/20 to 90/10 rule and you know it works great for me because the food I am eating truly does taste better than processed junk. Time to kick this new year off with a bang and get back to good. I have a feeling that a lot of CrossFit boxes are going to be having some Paleo challenges and I strongly encourage you to participate. Hope everyone had a great Christmas time and holiday season!!!!

Comments
  1. Moe says:

    Good reminder Rob! I’m definitely ready to refocus myself and my kids on eating nutritious, good food.

    • Lorraine says:

      It’s so easy to slide off that habit of eating well in exchange for easy, fast, or “obligatory” meals and treats made by friends/family/self! I have only tasted that clear energy feeling once this year during the Whole 30. Here’s to finding that again!

  2. Nadia says:

    I was thinking the same thing yesterday — it’s very easy to gradually give in to bad food, and soon enough, you find yourself it kinda takes control.. I have gained 4 lbs this past month, and it will take a month to lose it. I have decided to try the Paleo thing, starting with Jan 2. Wish me good luck! 🙂 HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!!!, to a great year of great choices! 🙂

Leave a Reply

