Sectionals Philosophy

Posted: November 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

Today I had my first Sectionals meeting at my box. It consisted of the trainers walking us through everything from logistics, to what to expect, to our training schedule. How I got to the meeting today was, at my box there were a few announcements that went out during WODs, on the blog, and on Facebook. The call out was for anyone that wanted to compete, they should let the trainers know so they could start putting together a list. Then from that last they sent out a message setting up the meeting that happened this morning. There was no hand picking or being secretive about it, you simply just had to express some interest. For me this was a no brainer, I have known I wanted to compete since last year’s Sectionals happened. To me it looked like a lot of fun and a great way to really see what I’ve got. Now I know I am not going to be making it to the actual CrossFit Games this year, but that is not my motivation for wanting to go to sectionals. There are different philosophies out there about who should be competing, but it comes down to two groups. One side says, hey if you wanna give it a shot then go for it. The other side says, you shouldn’t even try unless you think you have a chance of winning. The side I am on is the go for it side. For me Sectionals is a chance to compete in the sport of CrossFit and it only comes along once a year at this point. Where else can you get the chance to compete not only in a similar format to the games, but against some of the people who will be going or have gone the games already? You may have some local events that take place, but they are nowhere near the scale of Sectionals. At least not in the Northwest they isn’t. I think this was the way Sectionals was designed anyway or else there would be more rules for who could compete. Plus, I am not super old, but I am old enough to know that you need to carpe diem. I don’t want to look back on my life and think, “Why didn’t I give that a shot.” This is something I have been trying to do more and more in my life and you know what, pretty much nothing I have tried I have been disappointed in or regretted doing. This is why I think you should just go for it. I used to think more like,  “if you don’t think you can win then don’t bother trying” but that never got me anywhere. You can’t always be the best and I don’t believe that only the elite CrossFitters should be the one’s who get to have all the fun. Lastly, CrossFitter is getting bigger by the minute and I bet in 5 years you won’t even be able to do Sectionals unless you meet a certain criteria, so I am going for it now. But I will also through it out there that I will still be able to meet that criteria if and when it is put in place 😉 That’s the Greg Amundson in me talking, think positive and use positive words you will be surprised where it gets you.

Since I just spent some time covering my views on Sectionals and who should compete and the fact that I am going to, I think I will take one post a week to just chronicle my journey. I don’t know exactly how I am going to do it, but I would like to talk about the weaknesses I am going to work on and how they improve, my nutrition, and just overall feeling as the journey goes on. I have been talking about going to sectionals for 6 months and now that the meeting this morning officially kicked off the training for it, I am feeling a little nervous. Even though I am a strong believer in just going for it, I still like to win, and I still get butterflies big time before trying something new. First order of business, get an Rx jump rope from Rogue Fitness and work on the old DU’s.

Comments
  1. Annie M says:

    Thanks For saying everything that I have been thinking…Wish I could have been there today. Tom and Mark have been such a great help for me. I was one of those that said if you cant do all the Move in the right range of motion why try. I found myself asking this year why do so many other at SnoRidge believe in me? I guess I should believe in me as much as they do…so here I go with you on this journey……. Lets make a fun ride!!!!!!

    • CrossFit Dad says:

      You should believe in yourself as much as we all do, you are an amazing woman and it is ok to think and know that 😉 This will be a fun ride, just don’t forget to remind me that later on.

  2. Mark says:

    You will always get the “got for it!” message from me. Awsome stuff, fitdad!

  3. Moe says:

    I love it Rob! That’s exactly the attitude…Carpe Diem! Get out there and have fun! That’s what I’m doing. 🙂 Excited to train and compete with you and the rest of the Squatchers!

Leave a Reply

