Where is CrossFit Going?

Posted: November 12, 2010 in Uncategorized

With the recent conclusion of the Rogue vs Again Faster event in Tahoe, it made me think about where is the sport of CrossFit going. We know that CrossFit as a phsycial fitness program is growing very quickly and more people are opening boxes and more people are joining, but where is the actual competition sport going? There have now been 4 CrossFit Games and they have grown hugely every year. In fact they were even labeled by Forbes as a diamond in the rough and they can see the CrossFit Games as being the next popular action sport. I totally agree because I feel like there is a little in there for everyone. There are so many different activities being done, you have the team events, men’s, women’s, and the masters men’s and women’s divisions. And inside each of those you have everything from heavy lifts, to running, to climbing over walls and moving sandbags. You can also see how much passion each of the athletes have for this sport and with a lot of today’s professional sports you don’t see that as much as you would like. With the popularity growing it will be interesting to see what the next step is, will we start seeing more events like the Lake Tahoe event that just took place? Could it turn into a circuit and you see 4 or more events around the country or world each year? I know one thing I would like to see is weight classes. As this sport gets bigger and bigger having things like weight classes are going to become much more important. I don’t think you will ever get to the point where it is like MMA and you have new weight classes for about ever 10 pounds, but I could definitely see a good solid 3 or at the very least 2. I am very excited to see what happens this year, hopefully information will start flowing out about the location and dates soon. I am also curious about what other sponsors are going to start popping up. Right now Rogue and Again Faster and huge in CrossFit, but is some of the big dogs like Nike and Adidas start taking more of an interest will some of these other companies get pushed to the sidelines? I certainly hope not. Ideally I would like to see companies like Rogue and Again Faster grow with CrossFit and always be closer to the core.  The other thing that I think would be great about the sport expanding would be, for this be something for the family to watch together. I know I have great memories of going to see the Seahawks in the Kingdom with my dad and I think it would be very cool to think my kids would have great memories about us going to see the NorthWest CrossFit Games. Do you have any other directions you can see CrossFit going in?

Leave a Reply

