Improving your Handstand Push Up

Posted: November 12, 2010 in Uncategorized

As I have been evaluating some of the skills I would like to improve in general as well as for sectionals I ran across a great article on how to do a Handstand Push Up correctly. It was a very thorough article and had a lot of pictures to show you what your form should look like in several different positions. This is the type of thing I can really learn from, I need to see stuff to be able to soak it in. I have put a link to that article at the bottom of this page. This is one of the skills I chose to improve because in watching the CrossFit Games last year I noticed that this skill can be a deal breaker for a lot of people. Those that have this skill down well were able to pull head or stay out in the lead and those that didn’t have it didn’t just fall behind, but fell way behind. These are the type of things that can really gain you an advantage when competing and especially if you are smaller in stature. I know I am not the biggest guy in the world, so I can’t expect to throw around the heavy weights like Rob Orlando, Jason Kalipa, and Dave Lipson.But what I can do is kick butt in areas that are body weight like the handstand push up. Look at Chris Spealer for example, pound for pound I believe he is probably the strongest guy in CrossFit, but where he absolutely dominates are the bodyweight movements. He is able to gain so much time doing those that even if he is half as fast in the heavy weights he can still have a chance to win. Here is a link to the article: http://www.drillsandskills.com/article/19

Next I wanted to follow-up on my post from yesterday about where CrossFit is headed. I got a key piece of feedback last night that I 100% agree with and should have put in the post myself. A good friend and SnoRidge CrossFit box owner Tom Nugent said, “Let’s hope wherever it goes they remember the sport is second and that it is the purpose to get fit to enjoy a healthier life.” This is so right on with what I think I wanted to make sure and post this up today.

Hope everyone is having a great Friday. It is almost time to take on my Friday evening WOD and start the weekend off right.

Comments
  1. Tom says:

    Love it. Good article on HSPU’s. So much to work on!

Leave a Reply

