PR by Positive Thinking

Posted: October 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

A few weeks ago I attended a great seminar at CrossFit Advantage with speaker Greg Amundson. The name of the seminar is Goal Setting and Positive Self-Talk. If you have the chance to host or go to one I highly recommend it. He talks a lot about the way we talk to ourselves and how it makes a big impact on the way we act. For example if you go into the box and tell everyone that you feel like crap today and won’t be able to PR your deadlift, you won’t. He also talks about the power of saying things out loud. Like going into the box and telling everyone you are going to PR your deadlift today. It is just getting your mind in the right place to succeed. By just saying positive things it really changes the way you actually feel about things. Since Greg is one of the original Firebreathers of CrossFit, I told myself I will definitly give this a shot. I have been working hard to think and say things in a more positive nature and you know what, I think it is really working for me. I have gotten several PR’s in the last couple of weeks and one in particular was on a day that I had horrible sleep the night before because of a sick kiddo keeping me up. The other part of the seminar is about setting goals and sharing those goals with others. When you set specific goals and share them someone else, it makes them more real and holds you more accountable. But you have to make sure the goals are specific and measurable. For example don’t just have a goal of being better at double unders or being able to do 100 double unders. Have a specific goal like, I will do 100 double unders in a row in a fluid motion. If you have a goals board or sheet in your box I would suggest you use it. You can also send me your goals and I will start collecting goals from everyone that sends them in and post them all up. I will keep them all in one post and people can view other people’s goals and report back when they have met them. So, send me your goals and make sure they are specific and measurable.

Going back to the positive self-talk, I am also starting to use this with my kids. My daughter is not really a morning person, so I am doing my best to get her head in the right place before she goes to school. It seems like if she is not feeling it by the time I drop her off, then she does not have the best day. I have been working hard to tell her that today is going to be a great or awesome day. Talking about all of the positive things that the day will bring and not talking about the negative things. A good example of this is today it was raining pretty hard and really gray out, so instead of saying what a yucky day it is I  said, “This is going to be a great day to come home and we can watch a movie on the couch with the family and make a yummy snack.” I also encourage her to say out loud, “today is going to be a great day” or “I am going to have a great day today.” I fully believe this is working for her and she has been having much better days at school and keeping a better attitude even when things don’t go her way.

To sum it all up, positive self-talk might sound or feel weird at first, but if you honestly give it a shot I think you will notice a difference in how well you do at the box or with your kids 😉

If you would like more information on Greg Amundson’s seminar here is a link http://crossfitamundson.com/?page_id=1827

Also, don’t forget to send me your goals, so I can start a post to keep track of everyone’s.

Comments
  1. Mark B. says:

    Agreed! Totally works! The whole day before doing my CF Total the other week, I kept telling myself I was going to pick up 500#, it was going to happen! Sure enough, it did.

    Goals:

    1 month: 5 consecutive, perfect form, HSPU’s on parallettes, ears breaking the plane of the hands.

    3 month: Snatch BW (185#), and OHS BW (185#) (PR’d my OHS at 200# yesterday!)

    6 month: Handstand walk for a total of 30m.

    I will keep adding more when I make them.

Leave a Reply

