Mobility is King

Posted: October 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

Well, I have received some questions on the blog as well as in person about information on flexibility and I have just the Rx for you. If you have never heard of the Mobility WOD or Kelly Starrett, you are in for a real treat. He has some painfully good stretches to increase your mobility. He posts up a new mobility WOD every single day focusing on a different area. Now this is great for anyone, but it is really great for CrossFitters because he always explains how each thing will help you in CrossFit. Usually it is about a 5 to 8 minute video and then it is up to you to do the mobility WOD which can be anywhere from 4 to 10 minutes. It is such a small time out of your day and you can really make some great improvements. I know I have learned a few new stretches that I do before every single WOD. I can’t stress enough the importance of mobility, not only on CrossFit but just overall movement. You may already have something in mind that you would like help with, like tight hamstrings, rolled forward shoulders, impingement, or getting a better overhead squat. Just scroll through his blog and see if he has something for you. He has only been doing it for about 2 months, so not everything is up there yet but there is a ton that already is. As you can see I absolutely love the site and it is a daily visit for me. So check out http://mobilitywod.blogspot.com/ and start making this part of your daily routine, your body will appreciate it. You may also learn new ways to finally get you to a PR for a lift that you have been struggling with because of your flexibility. Keep the comments coming everyone and if you have a Facebook page, twitter account, blog, website, whatever and you like CrossFit Dad, please feel free to post my link on your site. Have a great day!! Also, check back later because if I have time I am going to post up some new Paleo food suggestions tonight.

Comments
  1. Rona says:

    Have to second Kelly’s mobility WOD! I did his traveling/air plane WOD on the plane to Las Vegas and I didn’t have that typical stuff body I get when I fly. After a tough workout Kelly’s suggestions get me moving again so I can keep up with my kids.

Leave a Reply

