Fat People Shop at Safeway???

Posted: October 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

I read and interesting study today published by the University of Washington. I won’t go into the entire study, but one of the interesting pieces of information that came out of it was that grocery shoppers that shop at your typical chain grocery stores like Safeway, Albertson’s, QFC, and Fred Meyer are much heavier than those that shop at specialty stores like Whole Foods, PCC, and the Metropolitan Market. The suspected reasoning varied, but one thing that was mentioned was the people who were healthy in general have more money and know more about nutrition. I can agree with that to a point, but another reason that was not researched was the quality of food available at these different stores. For example the variety and quality of the meat and produce available. For example at Whole Foods it is very easy to find very nice cuts of grass-fed, hormone free, meats. I think the quality of the food plays a huge role and if they were to dig into this finding deeper they would find a very strong correlation. I also have to agree with one part of the study that mentioned, you shop where is convenient and where you can afford the food. unfortunately if you are a bit strapped for cash, pretty much all of the inexpensive food is horrible for you. It takes a lot of time to really research what food is actually healthy, even if it doesn’t come in a green box 😉 One key concept that you can implement to make it easier to pick out healthy foods no matter where you are shopping is, only shop around the perimeter of the store. Think about this, that is where the produce department, meat department, dairy department, and deli are. But be careful of that deli, there is a lot of junk in there too. Most of the time when I go shopping I find I am not going down any of the center isles at all unless I need paper products, cleaning products, or frozen fruits and vegetables. Oh and don’t forget the Almond Butter and Sunflower Seed butter too. The best advice I can give you is, buy all of your food fresh if possible, if it comes in a box it is junk. This will probably mean going to the grocery store more often, but the health benefits are well worth it. If you try eating better consistently and follow something like the Paleo Diet you will really notice a big increase in your energy level at home and when you are hitting a WOD.

Have you made the switch from Peanut Butter to Almond Butter? Are you finding that your kids don’t like the Almond Butter so much? If you are having that issue try getting Sunflower Seed butter. The consistency and flavor are much closer to Peanut Butter and I think it is even a bit more sweet. Once I found this magical stuff, my kids were sold.

One last thing that I just thought of, if you are moving to Paleo or already have and feel like it is tough with your small children then get creative. Try to make similar things that you used to, but with a Paleo twist. For example spaghetti squash spaghetti. And remember, a kids has never starved with food on the table. We have been eating Paleo long enough that the kids don’t even think twice about the lack of gains in our diet. We are also not fanatical about it and yes sometimes you will see mac and cheese or a Sunflower seed butter and Jelly sandwich on our table. One of the best things that has come out of really focusing on eating healthy is how it has rubbed off on our kids. I have heard my daughter for example turn something down and say, ‘No thank you, I already had something sugary today.” and “I don’t want to eat that because it is not healthy and I want to be big and strong.” Once again I want to be realistic with you, they also have plenty of times when they ask for junk too, but the key they know the difference and don’t make the poor food choice every time.

Comments
  1. Greg Lambert says:

    Nice title….proven to be true on a regular basis. On putting the paleo spin on dishes I started off with the following substitutes for the rice,pasta, and bread I consumed on a regular basis:

    Cabbage (in all its forms) became my pasta. For example I cut it long/thin for spaghetti (Napa works best) and short/fat for a Penne. Rest of the dishes left the same with double the veggies I used to add.

    Cauliflower subs for mashed potatoes and rice. Mashed is self explanatory…see link for how to fool yourself into thinking its rice….I don’t have a food processor so I just use a cheese grater and get similar effect: http://video.about.com/lowcarbdiets/Low-Carb-Cauliflower-Rice.htm

    Lettuce (mostly Romaine and sometimes Butter lettuce) sub for the tortilla when making my favorite wrap/burrito. I also use the biggest leaves I can find in lieu of hamburger/hot dog buns.

    I posted a link to a great paleo muffin recipe on the SnoRidge Facebook page. We always have a batch on hand for a quick snack. Whole9 ruined Agave for me so I now sub by rehydrating raisins toss’em in a blender and voila.

    And your observations on the kids is spot on. Just the other day after my 3 yr old polished off a banana he said “Dad I need some protein now” lol

    • CrossFit Dad says:

      Hi Greg, these are some great ideas. I think I will share all of them on the main page to make sure everyone else will get to see them. It makes it so much easier when you have other people sharing their recipes and how they do things. Thanks for the feedback and keep it coming!

Leave a Reply

