Your CF Schedule and one of my favorite Paleo recipes

Posted: October 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

As I woke up at 5:30 a.m. this morning I hesitated on getting out of bed knowing that in 30 minutes I would have to be giving it my all, at what I was imaging would be a brutal WOD. But you know what pushed me to get up anyway and start getting ready to head to the 6 a.m. WOD at the box? It was my kids, no they weren’t up already, thank God. It was the fact that on days when there is a 6 a.m. WOD available, I don’t have to miss out on any time with my kids. Being that I go to CrossFit usually 5 days a week, I try and minimize the time  I am away from home while the kiddos are awake. It can be tough to head out for work at 8 a.m., get home at 5 p.m., catch up with my wife, play with the kids for a few minutes, and then get dressed quickly to hit an evening WOD, to just get home in time to either put the kids to bed or give that final kiss goodnight. I obviously think it is very important to be present with my kids, but it is also very important to do things for yourself that you love. The trick is figuring out how to balance everything. I think I have developed a good balance now by choosing the WOD times that are least impactful to my homelife, bringing my kids to WODs to socialize with the other CF kids, and knowing when it is just better to skip a day than leave my wife alone with two kids on a day when they seem to be struggling with the whole listening to rules thing. How do you balance your passion for CrossFit with your family life? This would be a great area to share any tips and tricks for others.

Now for one of my favorite Paleo recipes, Sloppy Joes. This is a super quick fix, tastes great, and is very satisfying. It is also great for leftovers. Copy the link below in your browser.

http://www.paleoplan.com/2009/12-03/sloppy-joes/

Comments
  1. Jeremy says:

    Long time listener, first time caller!! Cool blog Rob, as I don’t have kids but still struggle with the same issue of spending time with my wife I am even more impressed at the dedication you guys have shown. Your kids are growing up in an environment where there are no limits as to what they can achieve. In their mind Mom can do pullups and lift heavy things, to them their parents are the strongest parents there are and that’s kind of cool.

    • crossfitdad says:

      Hey Jeremy,
      I definitly agree, with or without kids it can be a struggle to jugle time between work, CF, and a significant other and/or family. It is one of those things that seems like it would be fairly simple, but you really do just have to sit down and look at your schedule and see how you can fit everything in and create the least amount of impact on spending qualify time with your loved ones. But I do believe that once you get in a rythm it becomes less difficutl to manage, with the exception of when something major in your life changes and you need to reajust, like moving, getting a new job, having a kid, etc…. I love that my kids are just growing up to think it is normal that their mom can do pull ups and their dad can jump up to the top of a hood of a pickup 🙂 Thanks for the comments, I appreciate it. Spread the word about the blog to anyone else you may think would be remotely interseted. Like you said, not all of this stuff applies to just dads out there.

  2. Tom says:

    Dude if you figure out that balance let me know. 😉 Great site CrossFit Dad! Keep it up!

  3. Will Johnson says:

    I am rather lucky in that I work from my home. I choose to take a short lunch break but then head out at 3:45 for the 4:00 class. I make sure that I catch up on emails when I get home and will often put in 30 min or an hour of work after I put my boys to bed.

Leave a Reply

